Supplier Focus

By Products & Services

All go at Dundee's 71 Brewing: a new seven-strong range of canned beers in the offing


71 Brewing installs can line, starts brewing cask ale 

Dundee’s only commercial brewery, 71 Brewing, will start canning a new series of beers on its own line from the end of this month – and has also announced it will start selling beer in cask for the first time since the business was launched in 2015.

An ABE CraftCan 35 machine, supplied through Vigo and believed to be the first of that model from the American manufacturer in the UK, was installed in September and has the capacity to fill up to 2,300 cans an hour.

Crown is supplying the cans themselves, in both 330ml and 440ml sizes and delivered in small batches as 71 needs them to avoid storage issues. They will be labelled on site by an Advanced Dynamics wraparound system.

In anticipation of increased volumes, two 80-hectolitre Svoboda Inox fermenters from the Czech Republic have been added to the existing 14 tanks, alongside a 25-hectolitre brewhouse.

Branded ‘Blueprint’ the new canned range will comprise seven beers: Aurora Burst Citrus Session IPA, Cloud Fall APA, Mandarina Sky Hazy IPA, High Water Helles, Breakfast Toast Stout, Two to Mango Wheat Beer and Passion Killer Passion Fruit Sour.

Managing director Duncan Alexander believes the beers will tap into demand for canned beers from national supermarkets and help 71 break into new export markets the company is targeting, including Scandinavia, Italy and China.

“We are still the only brewery in a city of 170,000 people and that’s given us a good foundation to start looking to expand overseas and through major retailers here,” he said. “We’d certainly like to be a bigger brewer than we are, but how big we can grow will be dictated by the market.”

For more local distribution, a four-strong cask range will be added to 71’s portfolio at the same time as the cans, he revealed.

“We realise that’s against the trend, but customers have been asking us for cask for some time, and there’s more cask lines available to us while keg lines tend to be tied up.

“In fact, we’ve already pre-sold our first production runs of cask.”

Phil Mellows
28th November 2018

Facebook Twitter Google LinkedIn Email